100th Blog Post

Today is less of an article and more of a collection of random ideas that popped into my head while wondering what to write for my 100th post. I actually wasn’t going to commemorate the 100th post, but I needed a topic today other than panic about how I’m going to finish this novel before the end of the month. My deadline is actually 5:00 pm on November 29th, since I don’t write on the Sabbath and I’m spending the evening of November 30th at my cousin’s house for a Sherlock marathon where she intends to win me over to tea-drinking. It started as a “Marissa must drink tea” intervention, and I suggested that such a thing must be accompanied by British television.

I suppose I’ll take this opportunity to announce my plans for my 111th post coming up in mid December. Since it’s right before The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug is released, I thought I’d make my “eleventy-first” post a Lord of the Rings Myers-Briggs chart in the style of that Star Wars MBTI that has been going around Facebook. It harder than I thought it would be. Tolkein seemed to write an unusually high proportion of introverts into his stories.

Also, on a completely unrelated note: HAPPY BIRTHDAY DOCTOR WHO! Saturday was the 50th anniversary, and the airing of a very special episode called “The Day of The Doctor.” If all goes well, I’ll be seeing it tonight at the cinema. I loosely group the TV series I watch into “I like them” and “I’m a fan,” and Doctor Who is one in the later category (along with Sherlock and Star Trek).

4 thoughts on “100th Blog Post

    • IT WAS AMAZING! I’m so glad I went to see it in 3D at the cinema instead of just watching it on my computer screen. David’s speech to the rabbit about being the Oncoming Storm, trading the Fez through time portals, Queen Elizabeth, so many other things I couldn’t mention without breaking River’s rule about spoilers … 10 is my favorite Doctor (thought I do love 11) and see them both together was simply perfect.

      Like

      • Yay! I’m glad you had fun!

        I intentionally avoid watching most of 10 in order not to miss him enormously — and this reminded me why I loved him so much. I think 11 is my favorite by a narrow margin (an incredible accomplishment on his part, since I was dead-set on hating him) but 10 is pretty awesome. I laughed a lot over him getting kissed all the time — that happened SO MUCH in the 10 seasons.

        How do you feel about them trading in Matt for an older, crankier Doctor? I’m not sure I’m going to like it, but I’ll give Peter a chance to win me over.

        Like

      • I actually have a really good feeling about Peter Capaldi as the Doctor. Casting an older Doctor makes it seem a little less like they are finding someone to replace Matt, who is so very good as a young Doctor. I’m not entirely sure that I’ll like him, but then again I wasn’t sure I’d like Matt 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

